The Five Chinese Elements

Chinese Astrology revolves around five elements. All the Signs in the Chinese Zodiac fall under one of the five elements namely Metal, Wood, Fire, Water and Earth. All beings have to be in contact with these Elements. On their part each Element is tied to a particular planet in the Solar system. Fire and Wood are tied to Mars and Jupiter respectively. Water and Earth are also tied to Mercury and Saturn respectively while Metal is tied to Jupiter.

The Chinese Elements

Each element has unique character traits which have a bearing on the corresponding animal signs. In their interactions with the animal signs, they alter the usual traits of the Sign. This gives the Chinese Zodiac 60 distinct combinations. The Chinese Zodiac is also influenced by the Yin and Yang concept. This means that there is a Yin Metal and a Yang Metal. The same applies for all other Elements. The Yang elements are seen during years ending in even numbers while the Yin Elements fall under years that end in odd numbers. Follow the links below to read more about each Chinese Element.

Fire: 1956-1958, 1966-1968, 1976-1978, 1986-1988, 1996-1999, 2006-2008, 2016-2018
Earth: 1958-1960, 1968-1970, 1978-1980, 1988-1990, 1998-2000, 2008-2010, 2018-2020
Metal: 1950-1952, 1960-1962, 1970-1972, 1980-1982, 1990-1992, 2000-2002, 2010-2012
Wood: 1954-1956, 1964-1966, 1974-1976, 1984-1986, 1994-1996, 2004-2006, 2014-2016
Water: 1952-1954, 1962-1964, 1972-1974, 1982-1984, 1992-1994, 2002-2004, 2012-2014



Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our [link]privacy policy[/link] for more info.

premium chat


AstroTarot Magazine - Your Window to the Future! Check out AstroTarot's Recommended Products Share this article freely with a link to the source.